Burn Me Till Dusk

Image result for Early Morning sunshine through window

Like early morning sunshine
Pouring in coyly through open windows
On a Summer Saturday
You fill me with warmth
And just when I am getting used to my temperature rising
You sneak off absent-mindedly
Leaving me clutching at the remnants
Of each ray that lags behind
As a reminder that you were here
As a promise that you will be back
I am but a lifeless room,
Without the gracefulness of your company
And even when you burn so brightly
And burn me so wildly
I grin in glorious delight
Because I know I’m alive enough to feel the fire,
Your fire, our fire
Keep burning on love
Till you can burn me no more

Published by: Akyempo

i met the Priest...i realised that though society seems to respect the baker and despise the shepherd, the baker is not happy despite his stability and the shepherd is free to pursue the pyramids, because he is a dreamer; and one day he will meet Fatima. I am the boy; the shepherd.

4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Burn Me Till Dusk”

Leave a Reply

