I Am King

crown
Photo Credit: sf.co.ua

 

I am king, because there is the King in me.
But even kings must bow.
Not because they are weak,
But because they are strong.
Because strength consists
not in the wielding of power
but in its restraint.
Because humility is not found
on the mountain top,
but in the valleys.
Because you are only the master
if you wash feet;
not for show.
Sometimes nobody even knows
the dirt you eat.
But you smile for the hopeless;
in the absence of the stars.
Because when the night comes,
it is the heart of the king
that proves how much gold he’s made of.
So there is the King in me.
Ruling over grey junctions
and dark corners in my spirit.
Issuing decrees and rebuking
the outlaws in my members.
Kings obey too.
Kings obey the King.
So I surrender.
Not to these fears that threaten
to crush me with their waves.
Waves that lick the shore of my wounds.
Reminding me that I wear vulnerable.
It is inescapable,
that noose around my neck,
choking the regal out of my eyes,
telling me that I’m ordinary too.
But I actually don’t mind,
as long as I don’t allow
the dirt to bury me.
As long as I surrender
only to the King in me.
Then I can remain King,
in the midst of all that overwhelms me
I am King.
So do your worst.
I am King.

Published by: Akyempo

i met the Priest...i realised that though society seems to respect the baker and despise the shepherd, the baker is not happy despite his stability and the shepherd is free to pursue the pyramids, because he is a dreamer; and one day he will meet Fatima. I am the boy; the shepherd.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

