I Am The One

I look longingly at these things that you have that I want but don’t have
Because I’m not enough
Or so I’m told
I wish I was as bold
As those that constantly define me
Those that always remake me in their own image
And spit on me for the mess that I am
I am the anomaly they design but reject
It is to them that I look to find my name
To understand my path
So I’m here, looking longingly at these dreams mama says I should have
Brooding over these choices that papa says I must make
I cannot be the one that fingers are pointed at; the subject of the gossip-pregnant whispers
The one they shun for having a soul so tormented;
A heart so full of questions
The one whose hair is too kinky
And whose voice is too loud
I am the one they fear and so the one they hate
I am the one they don’t understand and want to be
The one they curse because the pain of their jealousy says it’s the right thing to do
I am the one they have looked at longingly
the one they look at longingly
the one they will look at longingly
I am the one they have come to see
Open your eyes society and see well
World, you were never ready for me!

Published by: Akyempo

i met the Priest...i realised that though society seems to respect the baker and despise the shepherd, the baker is not happy despite his stability and the shepherd is free to pursue the pyramids, because he is a dreamer; and one day he will meet Fatima. I am the boy; the shepherd.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

