Mirth

See how useless your “I love you” is today
I have found peace in the gloom of the storm
Because of you
I no more like the taste of sunshine
I told you I loved you yesterday
It didn’t matter to you
You were deaf
Now you are dead. To me.

I am not a lover
I am not bitter
Just a soul who is still growing
My smile is a colourful defiance
It is a chisel busy at work in the rain
Chipping off the dirt of misery
Sculpting beauty from loss

You did this
So thank you
For thinking I’d forever lay here silently
The carpet your majesty trods on
Parading whatever goodness the world wants to see

Swept off your feet!
Look at the time you choose to fall
You are late!
The floor is bare
Where my prints used to be

I am not happy
Just free
And that gives me so much joy!

Published by: Akyempo

i met the Priest...i realised that though society seems to respect the baker and despise the shepherd, the baker is not happy despite his stability and the shepherd is free to pursue the pyramids, because he is a dreamer; and one day he will meet Fatima. I am the boy; the shepherd.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

