Lola’s Dance of Fire

 

index
Photo Credit: chobirdokan.com

You are not safe for me
You make me laugh and forget
You share my passions
And mock my quirkiness
You smile with your eyes
And dance with your laughter
But I know the music doesn’t play forever
You are not safe for me

I want better for you; for us
It’s such a dark place where you are
Take my hand and step into the light with me
Or do not take my hand
But step into the light anyway
I cannot take the chance
Of losing you to unforgiving shadows

But I’m dark-skinned
How come you see me?
The shutters of my soul have been shut tightly
My eyes illuminate not

You disguise your pain in poetry
And write in the ink of philosophy
I see through the ruse
Yes, you are as burnt as coal
With eyes as dim as night
But you still smile a thousand hopeful smiles
With each breath you draw
So I am not going anywhere
Till you are free from yourself

I am in comfortable pain
I recognize that it kills me everyday
Yet I am drawn to it like moth to flame
I dance in the light it provides
Till it burns me
Till then, still I dance

It is this very anguish you need saving from – self!
Broken in a million sparkling ways
You see beauty only in your shattered existence
But you were not broken so you can get comfortable in it
You have been broken
So you can fully understand and appreciate
The gift wholeness actually is

But the pain…
It’s some way bi
It’s some styles bi

Oh yes, I know
It gives a false sense of freedom and control
It makes you feel independent and invincible
Like you are no more susceptible to the pain
Because you own it now
But it is an illusion

I am afraid
To dance to my fill
Sometimes dancing to your fill
Means hoping that the music never stops
Or that it is looped on encore
But that is a fairytale
And happily ever after is a heartbreaker

Maybe
Loving might be too steep a price
To pay for this life
But it’s the only reason we are here

PS: This is an actual conversation between my friend (Oyelola) and I. She is as much an author of the piece as I am. Lola is an inspiringly beautiful soul, and this one is for her.

Save

Published by: Akyempo

i met the Priest...i realised that though society seems to respect the baker and despise the shepherd, the baker is not happy despite his stability and the shepherd is free to pursue the pyramids, because he is a dreamer; and one day he will meet Fatima. I am the boy; the shepherd.

7 Comments

7 thoughts on “Lola’s Dance of Fire”

Leave a Reply

