Unbroken Shards

Tear me down
Build me from inside out
Ive got fire on my heels
Fleeing from the cold
Chasing myself and running from me

There’s a man in the mirror
I dont know him
I dont understand him
All smiles and warmth
Cosmetic interpretation of his brokenness
Rub off the make up and expose his make-up
You can do that cant you?
Please do
He keeps moving forward in circles
Breaking bones and vows in the process
He is the rag that mops imperfection
Choking on his own ego
Too saved to apologise
Too chauvinistic to be emotional
He is just a broken wand
Longing to be wielded
But too proud to be mended
Wont you love him?
Maybe that’s what he needs
Or maybe not
Sow today tomorrow’s seeds
Lest they rot
Show him the way
He is tired
He just wants to go home
So Hands that mould
Work on this soul
Born sinner; a heart as black as coal

Every today is a rehearsal
Preparing for yesterday’s betrayal
They love me but they are rainbows
Colourful but unreliable
Are you red or blue?
Just give me a simple cue
Too many shadows
Here when the light is brightest
Gone when my smile is darkest
So I am wandering now
I am a traveller
Journeying through my own spirit
Calling my name and waiting for a response
Burrying the graves
And resurrecting some more
The man in the mirror
He is too busy being busy
He is not me and I am not him
Get thee behind me! Yes you!
President? Pastor?
Lecturer? Rich man?
Mr. Do-You-Know-Who-I-Am
You keep sucking breath from my lungs
And cleansing me with your spittle
Go dive into the Jordan of humility
Then can we unbreak the shards
I know the man in the mirror
A man broken yet unbroken

Published by: Akyempo

i met the Priest...i realised that though society seems to respect the baker and despise the shepherd, the baker is not happy despite his stability and the shepherd is free to pursue the pyramids, because he is a dreamer; and one day he will meet Fatima. I am the boy; the shepherd.

15 Comments

15 thoughts on “Unbroken Shards”

Leave a Reply

